Kamay Botany Bay NP for VKFF Activation Weekend 28 Nov 2015

The second activation of the day after Sydney Harbour NP with 45 mins drive between the two was at Kamay Botany Bay National Park VKFF-0048. The park is split into two sections on either side of the inlet to Botany Bay. The southern side at Kurnell incorporates the landing site for Captain Cook and has a very well developed and popular park. I headed for Cape Banks on the northern side in the suburb of La Perouse. This side also has the very popular tourist spot Bare Island.

151128KamayBotanyMapThe site is accessed by travelling to the end of Cape Banks Rd where there is a large carpark (-33.993246, 151.24961) and the base for the surf rescue helicopter. A southerly walk of 500m brought me to a spot for activating (-33.997961, 151.249171) just off the track to Cape Banks 300m further south. There is the New South Wales Golf Club and Cruwee Cove to the west.

151128KamayBotanySignSetting up was very easy as a stake in the ground was already present to support the squid pole. There are no large trees around as the area is rocky and sandy. The ZS6BKW doublet was set up oriented NW-SE. First contact was at 4:30pm (0530z) and was a park-to-park contact on 15m with Bob VK5FO in Ramco Pt Conservation Park VKFF-0930. Second contact was on 40m with Giles VK5GK at Mt George Conservation Park VKFF-0784. After that I self spotted on 40m and worked a further 22 stations in VK1,2,3,4 and 5 in under half an hour.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A bunch of new park activators had come on the air so for the next half an hour I was hunting them for the all important park-to-park contacts and ended up with seven more. All were on 40m except for the 20m contact with Greg VK8GM operating as VK8AR in West Macdonnell NP VKFF-0532. About this time a chap wandered over from the golf course to find out what I was doing

Andrew VK1DA spotted me on 40m and another five contacts were made. With only an hour left I spotted on 20m SSB and made just 2 contacts there. Tuning around 20m I heard Peter VK3YE trying his kite-lifted antenna of 30m of wire. It made for an interesting contact having had some fun with kites and antennas myself. See the video.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There were slim pickings on 20m with no further contacts even after spotting for a second time. I had made 39 contacts including 2 duplicates so still several short of the magic 44. Then I set up my FT100D allowing me to use more power. I went back to 40m, spotted there and started calling, but I had run out of hunters. I did make a SOTA contact with Nick VK2AOH on VK2/CT-006, my only CW contact. The last contact was on 20m answering a call by P29LL.

My appointment for the evening was looming so it was a quick shutdown and return to the car. I had made contacts with 37 unique stations so I have a good excuse to revisit the park for another activation. I do want to explore the track between Cape Banks and Bare Island including Henry Head.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As a postscript to this outing, two and a half weeks later on Wed 16 Dec a tornado went through Kurnell with winds of 213km/h setting a new record for NSW. Much property was destroyed in its wake. It came from the south side to the north and would have passed close to the area that I was activating.

Statistics

  • 41 contacts
  • 10 park-to-park contacts
  • 1 SOTA contact
  • 2h20m operating time

Contacts

Thanks for all the contacts:

VK5FO/P VK5GK/P VK3DAC VK3PF VK1MA VK4RF VK4HA VK3DBP VK2VW VK3PMG/M VK1AT/3 VK3OF VK3AV VK2ZMT VK2PKT VK3MTB/P VK2ODD VK3WE VK5AV VK2NZL VK2YW VK2JDR VK3HRA/P VK1MTS VK5CZ VK5PAS/P VK5GJ/P VK2UH VK3ZPF/P VK3TST/P VK8AR/P VK7CW VK2GJC VK3LED VK3ANL VK5EE VK4RF VK4HA VK3YE/P VK2AOH P29LL

Leave a Reply

